Initially, the Liquid propulsion activities for launch vehicle were carried out by Liquid Propulsion Project (LPP) and Auxiliary Propulsion Systems Unit (APSU). LCSD building was established in 17 January 1985 for the development of control components & control power plants for liquid stages and development of PS4 stage for PSLV under APSU. Later on, LPP and APSU were merged to form Liquid Propulsion Systems Unit (LPSU) on 30 November 1985. LPSU occupied one block of PSLV office space building at Valiamala. LPSU becomes Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) on 1 June 1987.