Dr. A. E. Muthunayagam
30/11/1985 - 14/04/1994,

Dr. A. E. MUTHUNAYAGAM was born on 11th January 1939 . He obtained his Bachelor of Engineering(Mech) Degree from the University of Madras in 1960 with First Class Honors.His Master's degree(Power) was completed at Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1962 with distinction. He obtained his doctorate from the School of Mechanical Engg., Purdue University, USA in 1965. He also completed his L.L.B. from the University of Kerala in 1975

He was a member of Science & Technology Committee constituted by the Government of Kerala, Review Committee for Birla Institute of Technology, Ranchi (constituted by the Min. of Education & Social Welfare, Govt. of India) and Scientific Advisory Committee on Propulsion, National Aeronautical Lab., Bangalore.

He was Co-ordinator for establishing ancillary industrial units around the Space Centre in Thumba in 1970, Referee to review papers for International Journal of Heat and Mass Transfer, Pergamon Press, New York and Examiner of Post-graduate degree in Mechanical Engg., for Kerala university, Calicut University, B.I.T., Ranchi and I.I.T., Madras.

Dr. A. E. Muthunayagam's assignments with ISRO included :
        Head, Propulsion Engg. Division, SSTC
        Head, Mechanical Engg. Division, SSTC
        Project Leader
                   Rohini 125 Rocket Project
                   Rohini Multi-stage Rocket Project
                   Strip Wound Motor Project
        Project Engineer & Chairman, Board of Administration, Static Test & Evaluation Complex(STEX) at Sriharikotta, Andhra Pradesh
        Member of Board of Management, Sriharikotta Centre
        Director, Propulsion Group, VSSC
        Project Manager of Vikas Project (Technology Collaboration with French Aerospace Company)
        Chairman, Rocket Propulsion Board
        Member, Satellite Launch Vehicle Project Board
        Convenor, ISRO-CNES(France) Launcher Working Group
        Adviser, Static Test Facilities of ISRO
        Programme Director, Auxiliary Propulsion System Unit (APSU), ISRO
        Director, Liquid Propulsion Projects(LPP)
        Chairman, LPP Management Board
        Chairman, SRC on SLV-3 Rocket Motors
        Chairman, Mission Readiness Review, ASLV D1 & D2 Launch